Wind. The exodus compounded

The wind that came up at the Red Sea would have scared me. Pursued by pharaoh and his horsemen and chariots, led away from uncomfortable security by a madman, confronted by a seemingly impossible obstacle, this would be the last thing I needed on my exodus journey. Wind. Not a gentle breeze, but a mighty wind, buffeting, constant, dusty, unsettling.
I often don’t see the reason for the winds in my life. The actions of friends that are hurtful and defy explanation. Being a parish pastor with it normal excess of real and horrible issues. Being informed of a submission audit by SARS,the revenue service, the five month saga of a parish car and the need to prepare for nasal surgery when every day seems to bring a new complication and delay. I don’t like these winds. I can’t tack my life to them and use them. They buffet, leave grit in my eyes. The winds limit my vision and frustrate me.
But. That horrible spiritual but. But. God didn’t see the wind in the same way. The wind was not raised for inconvenience or to be another test. It was his chosen instrument to clear a way for his chosen people so they could walk through the Sea of reeds dry shod, walls of water to left and to right of them. The wind was another mighty sign.
It doesn’t make the winds less intense, less gritty, less discomforting. Just winds with a purpose my limited vision can’t see just yet.
Exodus 14

About sharpspear

Random musings of a Catholic Priest at the bottom end of africa. Media curious. Lover of music. not sure they even represent my views, nevermind the views of others.
This entry was posted in Reflecting on Scripture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wind. The exodus compounded

  1. Ana says:

    We have hindsight, not the perspective the LORD has. Let HIM Guide us and let us Trust HIM

Leave a Reply

