Stay the course.

Nearly nine month into a new parish assignment and the honeymoon is over. Probably five months ago. But now the gloves are off and the knives are out.
Transitions are never easy. For parishes or for people. And also not for priests. That’s the part that I think people forget.
I’m not into pity parties. I’m not seeking attention or sympathy. But give us a break. Please. I’m not appointed by a church council or to make you feel better. I’m appointed by the Bishop. For you. His care comes in me…
So give us some space.
But you are fast out of the blocks proving the adage that the best parish priest is always the previous one. You scandal and gossip and organize on false premise.
And when you are proven wrong… The flight begins. Really. You leave then spend your time complaining in your new parish about me.
You keep treating your priest (yes. Yours. Not to possess. But yours because I’m here for you. Your parish. Your parish priest) as if he’s never done this before. Never dealt with finances and staff. Never dealt with databases. Never dealt with statutory and canonical requirements. But in reality, All he’s not dealt with is you.
Or maybe that’s what you think.
Fifth parish. Fifth you.
Get over yourself.
Here’s my suggestion. Just be honest . But. First with yourself.

About sharpspear

Random musings of a Catholic Priest at the bottom end of africa. Media curious. Lover of music. not sure they even represent my views, nevermind the views of others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

